2016 USCAA Basketball National Championships Fields Announced

2016 USCAA Basketball National Championships Fields Announced

NEWPORT NEWS, VA – The 2016 USCAA Basketball National Championships field was finalized earlier today during a live radio show on WHKT in Portsmouth, Virginia. For an eighth year, the tournament returns to Uniontown, located in the Laurel Highlands of western Pennsylvania. The field features 34 teams in four divisions playing 39 games from March 1st-5th. Tournament games are played on the campus of Penn State Fayette.

Leading the Men’s Division I field in 2016 will be Rochester College. The Warriors are a mainstay at the top of the bracket, having won the 2013 National Championship and finishing as the runner-up in 2015. Washington Adventist University secured the second seed in the field. It’ll be the Shock’s first trip back to Uniontown since winning the National Championship in 2014. Following Washington Adventist in the bracket will be Concordia College Alabama. Another perennial contender, the Hornets will be chasing their first USCAA men’s basketball National Championship. Rounding out the top half of the bracket will be Florida National University, making their second trip to the tournament after a strong showing in 2015.The second half of the Men’s Division field features Oakwood University, SUNY Canton, Berea College, and The Apprentice School.

For a second straight year, the Concordia College Alabama Hornets will top the Women’s Division I bracket. The Hornets captured the 2014 National Championship before dropping a close game in the 2015 semifinal to eventual National Champion, Daemen College. Following the Hornets in the bracket will be Iowa Wesleyan College. The Tigers completed another strong season with an 18-7 record to secure another trip to Uniontown. Last year’s finalist, the Berea College Mountaineers, will start their 2016 tournament as the third seed as they look to make it back-to-back seasons in the National Championship game. The fourth seed in the field will be Silver Lake College, with the Lakers making their first trip to the tournament in school history. To complete the Women’s Division I bracket, University of Maine-Fort Kent will hold the fifth seed, followed by Rochester College, Carlow University, and The Apprentice School.

The defending Men’s Division II National Champion, Berkeley College-New York, takes the top spot in the 2016 bracket after finishing the regular season with just one loss. Berkeley’s top contenders in their quest to repeat will be Central Penn College, the second seed, and third seeded Penn State Mont Alto. The Penn State Mont Alto Lions entered last year’s field as the ninth seed and ended up finishing as the runner-up in a close contest against Berkeley. The fourth seed in the field will be the Warren Wilson Owls. In one of the more interesting notes in this year’s tournament, Owls coach Anthony Barringer was one of the leaders of Warren Wilson’s 2013 USCAA Men’s Division II National Championship team. Rounding out the field in Men’s Division II will be Yankee Conference Champion University of Maine-Machias, Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte, Penn State Fayette, College of St. Joseph’s-Vermont, University of Maine-Presque Isle, and Central Maine Community College.

The Women’s Division II bracket will be led by a familiar team. College of St. Joseph’s-Vermont takes the top spot for a second straight year. The Fighting Saints were the runner-up in the field in 2015 and have been impressive through the regular season with a 28-1 record. Following College of St. Joseph’s-Vermont in the field is Penn State Hazleton. A tournament participant last season, the Lions have secured their highest seed in the tournament in school history. Following Penn State Hazleton will be the Hudson Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Conference champion, Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. The last team in the top half of the Women’s Division II bracket will be University of Maine-Augusta, who are coming off a tough loss to College of St. Joseph’s-Vermont in the Yankee Conference Championship game. Completing the bracket will be defending USCAA National Champion Penn State Beaver, Southern Maine Community College, University of Cincinnati-Clermont, and host Penn State Fayette.

The USCAA Basketball National Championships kick off with the Skills Competition at the Penn State Fayette Main Arena on March 1st at 12:00 PM, followed by the All-American Banquet at 6:00 PM at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. Tickets for the tournament and banquet are available at uscaa.ticketleap.com. Play begins on March 2nd with championship games being held on March 5th. A complete list of teams and seeds is below.

If you would like more information on USCAA basketball or the 2016 USCAA Basketball National Championships please visit the Tournament Website.


Men’s Division I Tournament Participants

#1: Rochester College (Warriors)

#2: Washington Adventist University (Shock)

#3: Concordia College Alabama (Hornets)

#4: Florida National University (Conquistadors)

#5: Oakwood University (Ambassadors)

#6: SUNY Canton (Roos)

#7: Berea College (Mountaineers)

#8: The Apprentice School (Builders)


Link to Men’s Division I Bracket


Women’s Division I Tournament Participants

#1: Concordia College Alabama (Hornets)

#2: Iowa Wesleyan College (Tigers)

#3: Berea College (Mountaineers)

#4: Silver Lake College (Lakers)

#5: University of Maine-Fort Kent (Bengals)

#6: Rochester College (Warriors)

#7: Carlow University (Celtics)

#8: The Apprentice School (Builders)


Link to Women’s Division I Bracket


Men’s Division II Tournament Participants

#1: Berkley College-NY (Knights)

#2: Central Penn College (Knights)

#3: Penn State Mont Alto (Lions

#4: Warren Wilson College (Owls)

#5: University of Maine-Machias (Clippers)

#6: Johnson & Wales University-Charlotte (Wildcats)

#7: Penn State Fayette (Lions)

#8: College of St. Joseph’s-Vermont (Fighting Saints)

#9: University of Maine-Presque Isle (Owls)

#10: Central Maine Community College (Mustangs)


Link to Men’s Division II Bracket


Women’s Division II Tournament Participants

#1: College of St. Joseph’s-Vermont (Fighting Saints)

#2: Penn State Hazleton (Lions)

#3: Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (Panthers)

#4: University of Maine-Augusta (Moose)

#5: Penn State Beaver (Lions)

#6: Southern Maine Community College (Seawolves)

#7: University of Cincinnati-Clermont (Cougars)

#8: Penn State Fayette (Lions)


Link to Women’s Division II Bracket